Disney Princess Series: Sleeping Beauty

So a couple of days ago, I was looking through my DVR for a good movie to watch. Eventually, I stumbled upon a grouping of Disney princess movies that I had taped from an ABC family marathon a few months ago. I had only gotten three: Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, and The Little Mermaid. Out of all of these films, I decided that Sleeping Beauty was the one that I hadn’t seen in the longest period of time and would therefore be fun to see. It was never my favorite out of all of the princess movies when I was younger, but I must say, it was fun to watch after about 10-12 years.

Most of us know the basic plot of Sleeping Beauty: Princess is cursed at birth to fall in to a deep sleep (originally death but one of the good fairies softens the curse) if she pricks her finger on a spinning wheel. So Dad decides to destroy all the spinning wheels in the country (how would this even be possible?) and the princess goes to live with 3 good fairies until she is 16 and can return home and get married (obviously). And of course, she ends up pricking her finger on the spinning wheel and falls asleep until her prince can save her (surprise, surprise).

While I had remembered the basic plot, there were many a nuance that I picked up on that I would not have as a youngin. List time…

  • Sleeping Beauty is set in the 14th century, as Prince Philip kindly informs us that he should be able to date a peasant girl (who is unbeknownst to him the princess to whom he is betrothed) because they are living in “modern times”. Lord have mercy…
  • There is a scene where a court musician is extremely drunk and continually steals alcohol from the royals to get more drunk until he passes out. This was hilarious and not something I expected to see in a Disney movie from the ’50s!
  • I always pronounced Maleficient as Malificient, not realizing the first e, but I payed attention and they do pronounce it as Maleficient in the film so I don’t know where I got that from…
  • Maleficient is really into the word “fools”. It’s a great word; I don’t blame her, but she does use it at least 3 times…
  • maleficient 1

maleficient 2

maleficient 3
A true boss at heart. Look at those wickedly green flames!
  • When rewatching Disney films, I am always amazed by how creepy the villains can be. Especially in the older films. The queen in Snow White, the stepmother in Cinderella, and then Maleficient who is some sort of demon fairy. Don’t even get me started on those horns of hers… And that part where she turns into a dragon is kind of freaky.
maleficient gif 4
A transformation fit for the mistress of evil.

She used to scare me a bit when I was little, but I’ve got to say that I really find Maleficient intriguing now! I’m sure there are many other tidbits that I’m missing, but those were just a few.

Overall, Sleeping Beauty isn’t in my opinion, the best Disney flick, but it will definitely entertain you. There’s definitely some nice intrigue and a bit of an adventure-like twist to it. The villain is a treat, and so are Mary Costa’s operatic vocals (the voice of Sleeping Beauty). So give the movie a try and stay tuned for more film posts!

Leave a Reply

